Facultad de Medicina, UNAM

The Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México(National Autonomous University of Mexico) has played a fundamental role in the history and development of our country. Its purpose as a public institution, secular and autonomous, is focused on education, research and culture dissemination.

It is one of the oldest universities of the American continent. Its founding goes back to 1551, when Carlos I, King of Spain (Charles V, Emperor of the Holy Roman Empire) decreed the foundation of the University of Mexico.

This educational institution opened its doors on January 25th, 1553, making it the oldest functioning university in the Americas. Modeled after the University of Salamanca, it was organized following the scholastic tradition of European institutions. The Real y Pontificia Universidad de México (Royal and Pontifical University of Mexico) included five schools: Medicine, Civil Law, Canonical Law, Theology and Arts.

After Mexico gained its independence from Spain, the University shed its Royal title to become the Universidad Nacional y Pontificia (National Pontifical University), later changing its name once again to become the Universidad de México (University of Mexico).

2010: Centennial of the Universidad Nacional de México

After several years of restructuring, the University was re-born thanks to the efforts of Don Justo Sierra, Secretary of Public Instruction in the cabinet of President Porfirio Diaz. Framed by the centennial celebrations of the Mexican Independence, the National University of Mexico was inaugurated on September 22, 1910.

By 1929 the institution achieved its autonomy. Thus, the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM) came into being.

The Central University Campus initiated its construction in 1950 and is known as the Ciudad Universitaria (the University City). It is over 700 hectares and contains one of the four UNAM ecological reserves. Its architectonical richness has been recognized in Mexico and became an UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2007. Currently it holds over 350,000 students.

The Facultad de Medicina(School of Medicine) of the UNAM has grown since the inception of the UNAM, being one of the five founding schools. One of the first buildings was the Palace of Medicine, where the TUFH 2020 Conference will be held. It now houses the Museum of Medicine as well as the Medical History and Philosophy Department and is the site of various events and congresses. The School of Medicine is located in the Ciudad Universitaria since 1960 and is the academic home to 20,000 students in medicine, physiotherapy, forensic science, biomedical science research, neuroscience, as well as over 85% of all existing residencies in Mexico and fellowship programs. Our students, academics and former students can be found in all medical hospitals and institutions in Mexico, making the School of Medicine central for Mexican medical research and education.